Book of the Month

Every month our Book Club editors choose a Book of the Month for each age range – the perfect stories to share at home or in the classroom. Here are our children’s book experts’ top picks for September 2022.

Hello, Beautiful You! (BB)

Ages 0–2 Book of the Month

Hello, Beautiful You! by Andrea Davis Pinkney and Brian Pinkney

“Our book of the month pick for 0+ is Hello Beautiful You, a lovely board book from the award-winning duo Andrea Davis Pinkney and Brian Pinkney. Let your little ones know how much they are valued with this precious board book, all about how beautiful and extraordinary they are!

With bouncing, rhythmic text this title is excellent for aiding in the development of language, and vibrant illustrations further encourage engagement with storytime.”

Tasha - Book Club Editor, 0-6
Tasha - Book Club Editor, 0-6


The Pumpkin Who was Afraid of the Dark (PB)
eur prices
Offer price: €6.50
Rewards/RRP: €9.09
Product ordering

Ages 3–4 Book of the Month

The Pumpkin Who Was Afraid of the Dark by Michelle Robinson and Mike Byrne

“Our book of the month pick for 3+ is The Pumpkin Who Was Afraid of the Dark, a new title from award-winning author Michelle Robinson and perfect for fans of When Jelly Had a Wobble and When Ice Cream Had a Meltdown. This is a super sweet Halloween story about a pumpkin named Boo. Boo does not like Halloween, she isn’t spooky at all and she hates the dark! But when she meets a boy who shares her fears, Boo realises that maybe Halloween isn’t quite as scary as she thought – will this year be Boo’s time to shine?

This is a must-have for Halloween, showing all of the magic and fun the day has to offer. It is particularly great for those children who may find Halloween a bit too spooky, helping to boost their confidence for trick-or-treating! With a funny storyline and bright illustration, this is a great title to get children engaged in reading and is sure to become a firm favourite for when Halloween rolls around.”

Tasha - Book Club Editor, 0-6
Tasha - Book Club Editor, 0-6


The Pirate Blackbird
eur prices
Offer price: €6.50
Rewards/RRP: €9.09
Product ordering

Ages 5–6 Book of the Month

The Pirate Blackbird by Uwe Timm and Axel Scheffler

“Our book of the month pick for 5+ is The Pirate Blackbird, a funny and charming book by Uwe Timm and featuring Axel Scheffler’s fabulous illustrations! Having been stolen from the jungle, we join one incredible mynah bird on his adventure through the big city, using his amazing gift of mimicry to fool everyone in his path!

This is a fun and exciting story offering a new character that children will be sure to love. With a witty storyline and vibrant illustrations, this is sure to entertain even the most reluctant of readers.”

Tasha - Book Club Editor, 0-6
Tasha - Book Club Editor, 0-6


The Day I Got Trapped In My Brain
eur prices
Offer price: €8.00
Rewards/RRP: €10.39
Product ordering

Ages 7–8 Book of the Month

The Day I Got Trapped in my Brain by Amy Huberman

“Our book of the month pick for 7+ is The Day I Got Trapped in my Brain. Amy Huberman’s debut children’s novel is a hilarious story brimming with charm and magic. Age 11 and one-twelfth, Frankie has a big secret – she may just be a teeny bit magic! Frankie has a weird-and-wonderful world inside her head “Thoughtopolis” full of amazing creatures and places to adventure, with brother Fred and dog Blue! Until one day she gets trapped, and has to uncover a secret hidden deep within if she is to get back to the real world! But when the truth changes everything, will Frankie want to go back?

Children are sure to engage with this title, with a humorous storyline and a whacky world to get lost in, further improving reading ability and allowing their imagination to run wild! With brilliant illustration from Katie Kear this title will aid in encouraging creativity and is sure to have children designing worlds of their own!”

Olivia - Book Club Editor, Ages 7+
Olivia - Book Club Editor, Ages 7+


Tom Gates 19: Random Acts of Fun (pb)
eur prices
Offer price: €8.00
Rewards/RRP: €10.39
Product ordering

Ages 9–10 Book of the Month

Tom Gates: Random Acts of Fun by Liz Pichon

“Our book of the month for children aged 9+ is Tom Gates: Random Acts of Fun. This is the brand new paperback edition of the nineteenth book in best-selling and award-winning Liz Pichon’s hit series.

This book will keep any reader – even the most reluctant ones – hooked with its highly illustrated pages that are packed with fun doodles and sketches. This book is perfect for fans of Diary of a Wimpy Kid and Dork Diaries.”

Olivia - Book Club Editor, Ages 7+
Olivia - Book Club Editor, Ages 7+


South Asian Folktales, Myths and Legends
eur prices
Offer price: €5.00
Rewards/RRP: €10.39
Product ordering

Ages 11+ Book of the Month

South Asian Folktales, Myths & Legends by Sarah Shaffi

“Our book of the month for children aged 11+ is South Asian Folktales, Myths and Legends. This beautiful book is a brand new edition of retellings of nineteen traditional tales from countries such as India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, Bangladesh and Bhutan.

It is the perfect, child-friendly package as the stories have been re-told specifically for young readers – great for learning about different cultures!”

Olivia - Book Club Editor, Ages 7+
Olivia - Book Club Editor, Ages 7+


The Honeys
eur prices
Offer price: €8.00
Rewards/RRP: €11.69
Product ordering

Teen Book of the Month

The Honeys by Ryan La Sala

“Our Teen book of the month is The Honeys which is a brand new, twisted and tantalising, YA queer horror story.

This thrilling read is set amidst the splendour of a secluded summer retreat and explores the corruption that lies beneath the surface of the perfect lives of the uber-rich. This is a guaranteed page-turner, perfect for fans of Katherine Foxfield and Ace of Spades.”

Olivia - Book Club Editor, Ages 7+
Olivia - Book Club Editor, Ages 7+


Browse all September Books of the Month