Please note all goods are shipped from the UK. ROI orders are delivered duty paid (DDP). Please see our delivery page for more information. remove

Book of the Month

Every month our Book Club editors choose a Book of the Month for each age range – the perfect stories to share at home or in the classroom. Here are our children’s book experts’ top picks for May 2021.

Now Go to Sleep!
eur prices
Offer price: €6.50
Rewards/RRP: €8.88
Product ordering

Ages 3–4 Book of the Month

Now Go to Sleep! by Matt Carr

“When it’s time to wind down at the end of a busy day and thoughts turn to the inevitable and (let’s face it) sometimes challenging bedtime routine, why not get a little helping hand from Shirley Sheep (head of sleep)?

Matt Carr is known for his highly humorous texts and vivid, bold pictures, and this story is told through a cast of funny and recognisable characters who’ve had maybe a little too much sugar/are scared of the dark/have night time anxiety/have been gaming before bed or, in the case of Croc, just have too many teeth to brush! I wish I’d had this book when my children were little, and I spent hours cajoling, calming and chasing them around the house at bedtime. Matt tackles the importance of good sleep habits and routine with a big dash of fun.”

Yvonne – Book Club Editor, Ages 0–6
Yvonne – Book Club Editor, Ages 0–6

Lizzie and Lucky: The Mystery of the Missing Puppies
eur prices
Offer price: €5.00
Rewards/RRP: €8.88
Product ordering

Ages 5–6 Book of the Month

Lizzie and Lucky: The Mystery of the Missing Puppies by Megan Rix and Tim Budgen

“Our readers tell us they love Megan’s cracking and heartfelt animal stories, and I’ve chosen this book (written for younger kids) because it’s a great adventure about friendship, families and animals with the added key thread of a mystery, which feels perfect for the age range. We meet Lizzie, a young girl who loves animals, but in particular is desperate for a dog. Lizzie and her family are deaf, so she thinks this is a great idea, especially as she could train it to be a helpful hearing dog like Mrs Rose’s helper, Victor. All she needs to do now is persuade mum and dad… Oh, and together with her friend Ted, use all her smarts and detective skills to rescue and save a stolen puppy along the way!

Megan draws a wonderful insight into Lizzie’s life, and I especially like her portrayal of her family and friends. Megan herself is partially deaf so has drawn on her own experiences in a positive way. Also, shout out to Tim Budgen on the super cute illustrations.

4th – 9th May 2021 is Deaf Awareness Week.”

Yvonne – Book Club Editor, Ages 0–6
Yvonne – Book Club Editor, Ages 0–6

All About Eid: Things to Make and Do
eur prices
Offer price: €6.50
Rewards/RRP: €8.88
Product ordering

Ages 7–8 Book of the Month

All About Eid: Things to Make and Do by Sarah Shaffi and Aaliya Jaleel

“For my 7+ May Book of the Month I have chosen All About Eid: Things to Make and Do. Written by Sarah Shaffi and illustrated by Aaliya Jaleel, both amazing Muslim creators, this book is inspired by countries and cultures from all over the world. Bursting with crafts and recipes, fun fill-in activities and facts about the Eid celebrations, this is the ultimate book of Eid destined for hours of fun.

Eid al-Fitr is The Festival of Breaking the Fast that marks the end of the month-long dawn to sunset fasting of Ramadan. Ramadan this year occurs from the 12th April to the 12th May, with Eid being celebrated from sundown on the 12th May to the following evening. This book can be used for both Eid al-Fitr and Eid al-Adha, and re-used year after year for inspirational activities. But this book would also make a great gift for children of any religion, as it’s informative and educational, along with all the activities being easily accessible with simple and clear instructions.

We know that every child will be interested in creating magical lanterns, designing their own henna patterns and feasting on candyfloss cocktails and mouth-watering dumplings!

Make sure to check out the Scholastic shop for more books celebrating Eid and Ramadan.”

Su – Book Club Editor, Ages 7–11+
Su – Book Club Editor, Ages 7–11+

The Last Gate of the Emperor
eur prices
Offer price: €6.50
Rewards/RRP: €8.88
Product ordering

Ages 9–10 Book of the Month

Last Gate of the Emperor by Kwame Mbalia and Prince Joel Makonnen

“My May Book of the Month for ages 9 and over is Last Gate of the Emperor. Our protagonist Yared Heywat lives an isolated life in Addis Prime – a city filled with rundown tech, lots of rules, and not much to do. His only escape is the underground augmented reality game, The Hunt for Kaleb’s Obelisk. But one day when Yared logs in with his real name, it triggers an attack upon his city and causes his Uncle Moti’s disappearance. Suddenly, all the stories Moti told him as a young boy are coming to life, and somehow Yared is at the centre of all of them. Yared must search kingdoms in the sky and fight city-razing monsters to find his Uncle… and to find answers to his place in a forgotten, galaxy-spanning war.

That synopsis alone is enough to get anyone excited, and screams Ready Player One, meets Black Panther, meets Star Wars. Plus it’s co-written by an unbelievable pair of authors. Kwame Mbalia is a New York Times bestselling author, and His Royal Highness Prince Joel David Makonnen is a member of the Ethiopian royal family and the great-grandson of the last Emperor of Ethiopia. This adventure is loosely based on Makonnen’s real-life story, intertwined with Ethiopian myth and folklore. It’s action packed, cinematic, Afrofuturistic, combining sci-fi and fantasy with the beauty of Ethiopia in an epic journey to the stars.”

Su – Book Club Editor, Ages 7–11+
Su – Book Club Editor, Ages 7–11+

The Nightsilver Promise
eur prices
Offer price: €6.50
Rewards/RRP: €10.15
Product ordering

Ages 11+ Book of the Month

The Nightsilver Promise by Annaliese Avery

“My May Book of the Month for ages 11 and over is The Nightsilver Promise. Set in a futuristic fantastical world, where your destiny is laid out for you by a track of stars on your wrist. On her thirteenth birthday, our protagonist Paisley Fitzwilliam discovers her fate – that she is to die before her fourteenth. But then her mother goes missing, leaving her to care and protect for her brother. To save him, Paisley must uncover an ancient secret that will not only defy her fate, but will change the course of history forever… So begins a breath-taking adventure through re-imagined London’s floating boroughs, vaults and sewers, running from fire-breathing dragons, and fighting against time and fate.

This astonishing debut from Annaliese Avery is like no other. With rich world-building, a plucky main character in Paisley and one of a kind storytelling, prepare to be hooked to this new series. This epic fantasy is perfect for fans of His Dark Materials and Nevermoor, and recommended as the perfect follow on to fill the gap after reading Harry Potter. It has already received rave reviews from Vashti Hardy, the author of Brightstorm, and Dominique Valente, the author of Starfell. If the fate of The Nightsilver Promise was written in the stars, it would say it’s set to be a future classic.”

Su – Book Club Editor, Ages 7–11+
Su – Book Club Editor, Ages 7–11+

I Know You Did It
eur prices
Offer price: €6.00
Rewards/RRP: €9.99
Product ordering

Teen Book of the Month

I Know You Did It by Sue Wallman

“Finally, for my May Teen Book of the Month I have chosen I Know You Did It. This tells the story of our protagonist Ruby who joins a new school, but there’s a killer at this school. The twist is – the killer is Ruby. However on her first day someone leaves a note in her locker saying “I Know You Did It” – just like on the amazing front cover. When students start turning up dead, it’s up to Ruby to clear her name, and save herself from being the next victim.

Author Sue Wallman’s debut Lying About Last Summer was a phenomenon upon its release and won the Zoella Book Club prize, and still continues to be a bestselling favourite to this day. Her whodunit mysteries are packed with twists and turns that leave you guessing up until the very last page. I Know You Did It is perfect for fans of Karen McManus and Holly Jackson.

Wallman is a secondary school librarian which makes her the perfect author for teen thrillers. She knows first-hand exactly what teenagers talk and think about, and what goes on in the different social circles within school. Not only that, but she also knows exactly what books teens are interested in and looking for that aren’t already out there. All in all, this makes Wallman’s books some of the most authentic, realistic and entertaining books in the YA market at the minute.”

Su – Book Club Editor, Ages 7–11+
Su – Book Club Editor, Ages 7–11+

Browse all May Books of the Month

  • Now Go to Sleep! Now Go to Sleep!

    Book of the month

    eur prices
    Offer price: €6.50
    Rewards/RRP: €8.88
    Product ordering
  • Lizzie and Lucky: The Mystery of the Missing Puppies Lizzie and Lucky: The Mystery of the Missing Puppies

    Book of the month

    eur prices
    Offer price: €5.00
    Rewards/RRP: €8.88
    Product ordering
  • All About Eid: Things to Make and Do All About Eid: Things to Make and Do

    Book of the month

    eur prices
    Offer price: €6.50
    Rewards/RRP: €8.88
    Product ordering
  • The Last Gate of the Emperor The Last Gate of the Emperor

    Book of the month

    eur prices
    Offer price: €6.50
    Rewards/RRP: €8.88
    Product ordering
  • The Nightsilver Promise The Nightsilver Promise

    Book of the month

    eur prices
    Offer price: €6.50
    Rewards/RRP: €10.15
    Product ordering
  • I Know You Did It I Know You Did It

    Book of the month

    eur prices
    Offer price: €6.00
    Rewards/RRP: €9.99
    Product ordering