Book of the Month

Every month our Book Club editors choose a Book of the Month for each age range – the perfect stories to share at home or in the classroom. Here are our children’s book experts’ top picks for April 2024.


Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star
eur prices
Price: €6.50
Rewards: €9.09
Product ordering

Ages 0–2 Book of the Month

Twinkle Twinkle Little Star: A Sign-Along Song Book by Lucy Rogers

“Our April Book of the Month for age 0+ is Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star: A Sign-Along Song Book, a lovely new picture book that is the perfect introduction to British Sign Language. Follow the step-by-step instructions to learn the BSL signs, then sign along to this classic nursery rhyme – accompanied by wonderful illustrations of the night sky!

The interactive nature of this book makes it perfect for young children just starting their reading journey and the familiar nursery rhyme makes this a great entry point into learning BSL.”

Tasha - Book Club Editor, 0-6
Tasha - Book Club Editor, 0-6


Bun on the Run (PB)

Ages 3–4 Book of the Month

Bun on the Run by Smirti Halls & Chris Jevons

“Our April Book of the Month for age 3+ is Bun on the Run, a hilarious new picture book from the bestselling author Smriti Halls and top illustrator Chris Jevons. Bernard isn’t like other buns. He’s brave, he’s fierce, he’s going on the run! But life outside the bakery is full of dangers for a yummy treat like him – especially at tea time…

This a wonderful laugh-out-loud picture book, perfect for children who love to laugh and even those more reluctant readers! With bold illustrations, this is sure to capture a child’s attention, and the whole family will be wondering – will Bernard the bun find sweet freedom after all!?”

Tasha - Book Club Editor, 0-6
Tasha - Book Club Editor, 0-6


My Kingdom of Darkness (Pets Rule! #1) C&F ONLY
eur prices
Price: €5.00
Rewards: €7.79
Product ordering

Ages 5–6 Book of the Month

Pets Rule! My Kingdom of Darkness by Susan Tan, illustrated by Wendy Tan Shiau Wei

“Our April Book of the Month for age 5+ is Pets Rule 1: My Kingdom of Darkness, an absolutely hilarious early chapter book series perfect for fans of The Secret Life of Pets. Meet Ember, a rescue Chihuahua who has just recently been adopted into a new family, the Chins! But Ember is no ordinary Chihuahua… he believes he is an evil overlord, destined to rule the world!

This series is a part of Scholastic’s early chapter book line, Branches, aimed at newly independent readers. With easy-to-read text, high-interest content, fast-paced plots, and illustrations on every page, these books are excellent at encouraging young readers to further develop their reading skills and boost their confidence! With a hilarious storyline they’re also perfect for reluctant readers.

Kingdom of Darkness if the first in a series of four, so if your child loves this title be sure to check out: The Rise of the Goldfish, The Poodle of Doom, and Kittens are Monsters!”

Tasha - Book Club Editor, 0-6
Tasha - Book Club Editor, 0-6


Stephen Mangan Untitled DNFO

Ages 7–8 Book of the Month

The Day I Fell Down the Toilet by Stephen Mangan & Anita Mangan

“Our Book of the Month for age 7+ is the latest hilarious story from much-loved scriptwriter and comedy actor Stephen Mangan: The Day I Fell Down the Toilet! Timothy Trench finds it difficult to make decisions, so when he is mistakenly plunged down a toilet into the land that jokes come from, he knows he’s in trouble. The queen of the country has completely lost her sense of humour and the people need Timothy to decide on the funniest joke in the land as their last shot at making her laugh and restoring joke-production to full strength. Imagine a world where the only jokes are stale old Dad jokes – disaster!

This book is a high-energy, laugh-out-loud, fully illustrated adventure from the creators of the bestselling The Fart that Changed the World and The Great Reindeer Rescue. This brilliantly silly and imaginative story is overflowing with toilet humour and packed full of pictures by the talented Anita Mangan. An example of wildly funny storytelling with a message that any kid can be a hero! Perfect for fans of Roald Dahl, David Baddiel and David Walliams.”

Emma – Book Club Editor, Ages 7-11+
Emma – Book Club Editor, Ages 7-11+


Jack Splash
eur prices
Price: €8.00
Rewards: €10.39
Product ordering

Ages 9–10 Book of the Month

Jack Splash by Tom Daley & Simon James Green

“Our Book of the Month for age 9+ is Jack Splash by Olympian Tom Daley, written in collaboration with award-winning author Simon James Green. Sometimes friendship means diving into trouble! Jack only wants to impress his diving coach dad – but as the worst diver in the worst diving team in England, there’s little chance of it. Until a brush with magic and the arrival of a new friend, Billy, who can turn the team’s fortunes around. But when Billy finds himself in deep trouble, and the fate of his world hangs in the balance, can Jack and the team make a splash and save the day?

Jack Splash is a funny and fantastical adventure with gorgeous illustrations throughout that bring the humour to life. This not to be missed, hilarious story brings together a dream team of the most decorated British diver of all time Tom Daley and highly acclaimed children’s author Simon James Green. This book is full of personality, celebrates difference and the power of friendship, and generally promotes acceptance and love.”

Emma – Book Club Editor, Ages 7-11+
Emma – Book Club Editor, Ages 7-11+


Like a Girl

Ages 11+ Book of the Month

Like a Girl by Rebecca Westcott

“Our Book of the Month for ages 11+ is Like a Girl by Rebecca Westcott. Eden McCoy doesn’t fit in. All she’s good at is running and she doesn’t even dare join the track team. Her priority is staying in the shadows to avoid the Glossies – a ruthless clique of girls who use social media to punish and humiliate their targets. But when Eden beats one of the Glossies in a race she captures the attention of their queen, Bea, who decides Eden needs to either prove her loyalty and become one of them or suffer the consequences…

A sharply written contemporary novel on bullying, Like a Girl addresses the challenges girls face in school and online and the courage that is needed to be yourself. This powerful topic was chosen through a survey carried out by Scholastic with author Rebecca Westcott of nearly 1000 UK teenagers about their feelings towards social media. As well as empathetically exploring tough topics the book celebrates the joy of exercise and the importance of community and is a perfect read for fans of Tamsin Winter and Holly Bourne.”

Emma – Book Club Editor, Ages 7-11+
Emma – Book Club Editor, Ages 7-11+


The Map that Led to You

Teen Book of the Month

The Map That Led to You by Ella McLeod

“Our Book of the Month for Teen readers is The Map That Led to You by Ella McLeod. A long time ago, a witch burst into flames. A pirate and a mermaid fell in love. A map was marked with a glowing X. And a republic was born. In the present day, two girls are given a history assignment: to try and piece together the rise and fall of the famous and corrupt pirate Republic, which once formed their island home. As Reggie and Maeve sift fact from fiction, they realise that everything they’ve been told about the Republic is wrong. That the problem with history being told by the victors is that a lot gets left out.

Blending high-seas swashbuckling adventure, lyrical poetry and LGBTQ+ contemporary romance The Map That Led to You is another genre-defying, intoxicatingly rich tale of myth and magic from the author of the widely praised Rapunzella. This heart-piercingly honest exploration of a teenager coming into their gender, identity and race is perfect for fans of Dean Atta, Kalynn Bayron, and BookTok.”

Emma – Book Club Editor, Ages 7-11+
Emma – Book Club Editor, Ages 7-11+


Browse all April Books of the Month