Book of the Month

Suitable for 9 - 10 years

Format
Paperback
eur prices
Save €2.39
Offer price: 8.00
Rewards/RRP: €10.39
Product ordering
  • Schools earn Scholastic Rewards when parents or staff order from us. If you work at a school you can use Rewards to buy books and resources for your classroom or library. Find out how to use Scholastic Rewards

Buy this and your school gets €1.60 to spend on books Orders of €20 or more will earn 20% of your order value back in Scholastic Rewards for your school.

This product has not been rated yet.

0 reviews (Add a review)

Delivery information

  • FREE ROI postage for schools on orders containing at least one paid item.*
  • FREE ROI postage on orders €40 or over
  • €8 postage charge on ROI orders
    under €40

Book Club orders

  • FREE postage to schools*
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

ROI postage within 8 working days

Postage charges and times vary for overseas addresses

Refund and returns policy

*Excluding border charge

Product description

 

The perfect festive story for readers aged 8 to 8,888!

Meet the HUMBUG Family!

Christmas Elves, but not as we know them…

The Humbugs aren’t the kind of family you see on sparkly wrapping paper, or in snowy storybooks about Santa’s grotto. You won’t see them on the front of Christmas cards, and they definitely won’t be knitted on your grandma’s favourite festive jumper. Those happy scenes are only for the likes of the workshop elves and certainly not the Humbugs.

Nope!

They manage a much less glamorous part of Santa’s factory, the RPD Department… That’s Reindeer Poo Disposal to you and me. YUCK!

But when a mince-pie-related-mishap combined with an unfortunate letter-losing-incident sees them exiled from their home, the Humbugs – together with their clumsy Reindeer, Blister, and wheelie-bin sleigh – go on a great and daring adventure, where they discover the true meaning of Christmas, and the real heroes who make it special!

“A perfect Christmas stocking present – a very funny, festive page-turner.” – Jacqueline Wilson, author of The Story of Tracy Beaker

“Humbug is that rare book: funny, original, thought-provoking, and an instant classic.” – Francesca Simon, author of Horrid Henry

“An exquisite Christmas story, full of imagination and heart. For the whole family to read year-after-year!” – Amy Huberman, author of The Day I Got Trapped In My Brain

“You’ll laugh, you’ll cry, you’ll need a mince pie – a new Christmas classic!” – Steven Lenton, author and illustrator of Genie and Teeny

  • A hilarious, huge-hearted hug of a book; perfect for all ages.
  • For fans of Matt Haig , The Christmasaurus , and Elf on the Shelf .
  • With a touching and thought-provoking message to key-workers who tirelessly toil behind-the-scenes to make everyone’s lives better.

Our December 2022 Ages 9-10 Book of the Month

Christmas Elves, but not as we know them… The Humbugs aren’t the kind of family you see on sparkly wrapping paper, or in snowy storybooks about Santa’s grotto. You won’t see them on the front of Christmas cards, and they definitely won’t be knitted on your grandma’s favourite festive jumper. But when a mince-pie-related-mishap combined with an unfortunate letter-losing-incident sees them exiled from their home, the Humbugs – together with their clumsy Reindeer, Blister, and wheelie-bin sleigh – go on a great and daring adventure.

This incredible story is a funny, high-energy, sparkling love letter to the key workers of the world: those who toil behind the scenes and make even the most magical of enterprises tick along. Perfect for fans of Tom Fletcher and Ben Miller.

Olivia - Book Club Editor, Ages 7+
Olivia - Book Club Editor, Ages 7+

Product Details

Catalogue number

233 in Setanta Primary October 2022 and 637 in Setanta SCB Offer November 22

Format

Paperback

ISBN

9780702315879

Publisher

Scholastic

Date published

October 13th, 2022

Other details

  • 224 pages

Condition

New

Reviews

This product has not been reviewed yet.

Add a review

Customers also bought

Promotions available

How do I use promotional codes