These Stolen Lives New by Sharada Keats (author)

Suitable for 13 - 18 years

Format
Paperback
eur prices
Save €2.69
Offer price: 9.00
Rewards/RRP: €11.69
Product ordering

Buy this and your school gets €1.80 to spend on books

This product has not been rated yet.

0 reviews (Add a review)

Delivery information

  • FREE ROI postage for schools on orders containing at least one paid item.*
  • FREE ROI postage on orders €40 or over
  • €8 postage charge on ROI orders
    under €40

Book Club orders

  • FREE postage to schools*
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

ROI postage within 8 working days

Postage charges and times vary for overseas addresses

Delivery information and refund and returns policy

*Excluding border charge

Product description

A striking, thought-provoking YA dystopia” – The GuardianFabulously detailed world-building” – Patrice Lawrence, author of Orangeboy and Eight Pieces of Silva

A powerful dystopian thriller from a stunning new voice in YA, set in a world divided by race where life itself must be paid for if you want to survive… Filled with suspense and romance, ideal for fans of Noughts & Crosses, The Hunger Games and Shatter Me. Six years ago, seventeen-year-old Mora survived the terrifying Skøl invasion. They stole her land. They took her family. And now not even her life is her own. Skøl culture revolves around one motto: Life is Golden. You must pay the government for the right to survive. If you can’t, you’re cast out at best – at worst, culled. Records of every citizen are held at the hallowed, highly secured Life Registry, which tracks who lives and who dies, who pays and who fails. Colonized survivors like Mora face endless servitude, repaying the ‘debt’ of their years lived before the invasion. Mora is resigned to her fate, finding glimmers of joy in her tentative friendship with another repayer, the handsome, elusive Kit. But then she finds out that twelve-year-old Zako, the closest thing she has to a brother, is to be put to death by the dangerous new Skøl Governor. Finding the courage to fight back, Mora and Kit conspire to smuggle Zako to safety. But their plan draws them into a dark mystery – and to a heart-pounding mission at the Life Registry itself. They must ultimately ask themselves: what are we worth to each other?

  • Gripping, moving and suspenseful storytelling with a friends-to-lovers romance that crackles with tension.
  • A girl driven by unthinkable grief. A boy targeted for his unimaginable ability. A compelling story exploring the power of hope, courage and connection from a stunning new voice in YA.
  • A richly imagined fantasy world that illuminates topics of colonialism, racism and societal structures that demand productivity and disenfranchise the poor.
An intricately-crafted world with characters who live and breathe beyond the pages.” – Aisha Busby, author of A Pocketful of Stars Utterly captivating… The world Keats has created is terrifyingly believable… Keats’ writing was lush and evocative too.” – @_ashortbooklover, reader review

Product Details

Catalogue number

1359 in Setanta SCB Offer April 2024

Format

Paperback

ISBN

9780702325120

Publisher

Scholastic

Date published

April 11th, 2024

Other details

  • 464 pages

Condition

New

Reviews

This product has not been reviewed yet.

Add a review

Customers also bought