We are experiencing intermittent issues with our payment provider. Please try again if your transaction is not successful. remove

Suitable for 9 - 11 years

This product is not currently available.

To help you find what you're looking for, see similar items below.

This item has 4 stars of a maximum 5

Rated 4/5 from 1 rating

0 reviews (Add a review)

Delivery information

  • FREE ROI postage for schools on orders containing at least one paid item.*
  • FREE ROI postage on orders €40 or over
  • €8 postage charge on ROI orders
    under €40

Book Club orders

  • FREE postage to schools*
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

ROI postage within 8 working days

Postage charges and times vary for overseas addresses

Refund and returns policy

*Excluding border charge

Product description

2015 RED HOUSE CHILDREN’S BOOK AWARD SHORTLISTED AUTHOR

A brand new animal adventure for 8+ readers set during World War One from classic-in-the-making and bestselling author, Megan Rix. Perfect for fans of Michael Morpurgo and Sarah Lean.

Two friends, fighting their way home . . .

SHANTI and her calf TARA are beautiful circus elephants. HARVEY is the faithful old collie who leads the show. In war they will perform their most death-defying trick yet.

When the First World War seizes Europe, Cullen’s Circus is forced to close. The men are sent to fight and the animals are torn apart from their keepers, and each other. But while Shanti must help on a farm, it’s little Tara who faces a far worse fate. . .

Separated too soon from her mother, Tara’s life is in danger. Only old, brave Harvey can bring them back together. And so side-by-side, dog and elephant set out on an extraordinary journey across the English countryside – but can the unlikely friends find Shanti in time?

Praise for Megan Rix:

‘If you love Michael Morpurgo, you will enjoy this’ Sunday Express

‘A moving tale told with warmth, kindliness and lashings of good sense that lovers of Dick King-Smith will especially appreciate’ The Times

‘Every now and then a writer comes along with a unique way of storytelling. Meet Megan Rix . . . her novels are deeply moving and will strike a chord with animal lovers.’ LoveReading

‘A perfect story for animal lovers and lovers of adventure stories’ Travelling Book Company

Also available by Megan Rix: The Great Escape, The Victory Dogs, The Bomber Dog, A Soldier’s Friend and The Hero Pup

Product Details

Format

Paperback

ISBN

9780141357645

Publisher

Puffin Books

Date published

May 7th, 2015

Accelerated Reader

AR book level: 5.6; Middle years; 5.0 points

Condition

New

Reviews

This product has not been reviewed yet.

Add a review