Please note all goods are shipped from the UK. ROI orders are delivered duty paid (DDP). Please see our delivery page for more information. remove

The Secret Hen House Theatre

by Helen Peters (author)

Suitable for 9 - 11 years

This product is not currently available.

To help you find what you're looking for, see similar items below.

This product has not been rated yet.

0 reviews (Add a review)

Delivery information

  • FREE ROI postage for schools on orders containing at least one paid item.*
  • FREE ROI postage on orders €40 or over
  • €8 postage charge on ROI orders
    under €40

Book Club orders

  • FREE postage to schools*
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

ROI postage within 8 working days

Postage charges and times vary for overseas addresses

Refund and returns policy

*Excluding border charge

Product description

Since the death of her mother, Hannah’s family life has been somewhat chaotic. Her father is absorbed by running their dilapidated farm, and the four children are increasingly left to their own devices. These include “farming” each room of the house, looking after an enormous pet sheep called Jasper, and writing and directing plays in a disused hen house. But when the farm is threatened with demolition, Hannah determines to save it and realise her dreams at the same time…

Shortlisted for the Waterstones Prize, this is a brilliant story of eccentric family life where the children’s imaginations run as free as the farmyard animals. From the award-winning author of Evie’s Ghost, Anna at War, The Farm Beneath the Water and the Jasmine Green series for younger readers, this is perfect for fans of Iva Ibbotson and Philippa Pearce.

Product Details

Format

Paperback

ISBN

9780857630650

Accelerated Reader

AR book level: 4.3; Middle years; 9.0 points

Condition

New

Reviews

This product has not been reviewed yet.

Add a review

What kids think

  1. wordtastic
    on 11 May 2015

    This was a heart warming, emotional story that really got me into the character’s shoes. A massive well done to the author who helped me to find some magnificent words like solopsistic and serendipity!

    5out of 5
  2. emz1415
    on 2 April 2015

    I love love loved this book. Amazing. Brillant. Fab. So many words to describe this book. Just ♥♥♥♥♥ The sequal is great to!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    5out of 5
  3. bouncybunny
    on 8 March 2013

    I totaly love hannah I was so sorry that her mum died this is a really great book , about a young girl who writes a play for her dead mum, every one should read this book

  4. karen2012
    on 19 August 2012

    I loved this Book it has a brilliant story-line and i found it impossible to put down!!! I think all girls agred 10-13 should read this book they’ll all love it!!! :)

    5out of 5
  5. Book-Club-Review-Team
    on 16 July 2012

    The Secret Hen House Theatre is an amazing book. There are lots of different genres you can put it under like spies when she does things behind her dads back, mystery because she no one knows what will happen next and romance which I find is very strange. The main character Hannah has to focus on her dream, even if no one believes in her. Each character has their one personality and feelings so it is a challenge to keep track of who’s who. Usually stories are based on one thing but this book finishes the main story but carries on, this intrigued me. What made the book special was how there were many different parts which the author managed to fit together. I like this book because it is different to the others I have read, it is not like others so I love it that bit extra.

    Megan, age 10

    3out of 5
  6. 2533becky
    on 25 June 2012

    MEE TOO DIS BOOK IS SOO GOOD

    5out of 5
  7. Jetinc98
    on 24 June 2012

    this book lokks awsome i cant wait to read it!!!!!!!!! :)