Shopping from United States? Please visit the correct site for your location.

Suitable for 9 - 11 years

This product is not currently available.

To help you find what you're looking for, see similar items below.

This item has 5 stars of a maximum 5

Rated 5/5 from 2 ratings

0 reviews (Add a review)

Delivery information

  • FREE ROI delivery for schools on orders containing at least one paid item.
  • FREE ROI delivery on orders €30 or over
  • €6 delivery charge on ROI orders
    under €30

Book Club orders

  • FREE delivery to schools
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

ROI delivery within 8 working days

Delivery charges and times vary for overseas addresses

Refund and returns policy

Product description

A stunning new story from a king of writers. Being autistic is tough in peacetime. What about in a war…? Maybe you think flamingos only live in exotic places. Actually, they also live in the salty swamps of the Camargue in France. The boy in this story has loved them since he was tiny – along with routine, and music, and riding the town carousel. But now war has come, and it’s all falling apart. The flamingos are being shot – falling broken to the ground. The town is overrun by Nazi soldiers. Even the precious carousel horses have been smashed. How will this kid cope with it all?

  • A moving, uplifting story of hope in a time of horror
  • EXCLUSIVE paperback just for Scholastic customers
  • Celebrates the power of friendship against all odds
  • Perfect for fans of War Horse and Private Peaceful

Product Details

Format

Paperback

ISBN

9780007971442

Date published

January 4th, 2018

Lexile measure

910L Lexiles are the global standard in reading assessment. They are unique as they are able to measure a child and a book on the same scale – ensuring the right book gets to the right child at the right time.

For more details see What is a lexile?.

Accelerated Reader

AR book level: 5.8; Middle years; 9.0 points

Other details
  • 352 pages
Condition

New

Author/Illustrator

Michael Morpurgo

8025 morpurgo 206731

Reviews

This product has not been reviewed yet.

Add a review

Customers also bought

What kids think

  1. Bellasara 113282

    Sweetheart789
    on 2 January 2019

    Such a great book, a lovely read