The Black Queen by Jumata Emill (author)

The Black Queen

Suitable for 14 - 20 years

Format
Paperback
eur prices
Price: 9.00
Rewards price: €11.69
Product ordering

Buy this and your school gets €1.80 to spend on books

This product has not been rated yet.

0 reviews (Add a review)

Delivery information

  • FREE ROI postage for schools on orders containing at least one paid item.*
  • FREE ROI postage on orders €40 or over
  • €8 postage charge on ROI orders
    under €40

Book Club orders

  • FREE postage to schools*
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

ROI postage within 8 working days

Postage charges and times vary for overseas addresses

Delivery information and refund and returns policy

*Excluding border charge

Product description

A dark and twisty murder mystery – Ace of Spades meets Riverdale‘At once incisive and chilling, The Black Queen folds hard-hitting truths into a propulsive murder mystery, delivering a story that both entertains and examines. This is Pretty Little Liars for a new generation.’ – Tahereh Mafi, New York Times bestselling author of the Shatter Me series Tinsley McArthur was supposed to become homecoming queen, just like generations of McArthur women before her. But in a bid for diversity, Lovett High wants a black queen this year and the top contender is the bold and beautiful Nova Albright. Though Tinsley tries to convince her to drop out, Nova isn’t about to step aside for some rich white girl. On homecoming night, drunk and enraged, Tinsley is caught on camera declaring she should have killed Nova. The next morning Lovett High’s first Black homecoming queen turns up dead. Would Tinsley do anything for the crown? Nova’s best friend Duchess certainly thinks so. So when Tinsley asks Duchess for help to clear her name, she agrees. She’s determined to get justice for Nova, even it means befriending a murderer to find proof against her. But their investigation begins to uncover secrets about Nova’s past and one big secret that could change everything in their small town.

  • Perfect for fans of Ace of Spades, A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder and Riverdale
  • Sharp, clever and unputdownable – a thriller with a bite
  • From 2018 PitchWars author Jumata Emill

Our March 2023 Teen Book of the Month

Our March 2023 Book of the Month pick for teens is The Black Queen. Tinsley McArthur was supposed to become homecoming queen, like generations of McArthur women before her. But in a bid for diversity, Lovett High wants their first black queen in the form of bold and beautiful Nova. On homecoming night, drunk and enraged, Tinsley declares she should have killed Nova, only for her to turn up dead in the old slave cemetery the next morning. Nova’s best friend Duchess befriends Tinsley under the pretence of clearing her name, but determined to find proof against her. But their investigation begins to uncover secrets that could change everything in their small town.

This dark and twisty thriller is the new novel from Jumata Emill, an award-winning crime journalist. This murder mystery touches on the real-life political and police injustices he has witnessed and the Black Lives Matter movement. Perfect for fans of Riverdale and Pretty Little Liars, and readers of Ace of Spades and A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder.

Su – Book Club Editor, Ages 7–11+
Su – Book Club Editor, Ages 7–11+

Product Details

Catalogue number

1380 in Setanta SCB Offer April 2024

Format

Paperback

ISBN

9780702322945

Publisher

Scholastic

Date published

February 2nd, 2023

Lexile measure

790L

Other details

  • 400 pages

Condition

New

Available in these packs

Reviews

This product has not been reviewed yet.

Add a review

Customers also bought