Suitable for 9 - 11 years

This product is not currently available.

To help you find what you're looking for, see similar items below.

This product has not been rated yet.

0 reviews (Add a review)

Delivery information

  • FREE ROI postage for schools on orders containing at least one paid item.*
  • FREE ROI postage on orders €40 or over
  • €8 postage charge on ROI orders
    under €40

Book Club orders

  • FREE postage to schools*
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

ROI postage within 8 working days

Postage charges and times vary for overseas addresses

Refund and returns policy

*Excluding border charge

Product description

A Puffin Book – stories that last a lifetime.

Puffin Modern Classics are relaunched under a new logo: A Puffin Book. There are 20 titles to collect in the series, listed below, all with exciting new covers and fun-filled endnotes.

Carrie’s War by Nina Bawden is an unforgettable Second World War story.

‘I did a dreadful thing…or I feel that I did, and nothing can change it…’

It is the Second World War and Carrie and Nick are evacuated from London to a small town in Wales, where they are placed with strict Mr Evans and his timid mouse of a sister.

Their friend Albert is luckier, living in Druid’s Bottom with Hepzibah Green who tells wonderful stories, and the strange Mister Johnny, who speaks a language all of his own. Carrie and Nick are happy to visit Albert there, until one day when Carrie does a terrible thing – the worst thing she ever did in her life…

Based on her own childhood, Nina Bawden’s enchanting story Carrie’s War has delighted readers for almost 40 years.

‘Nina Bawden – without question one of the very best writers for children’ Daily Telegraph

Perfect for fans of Goodnight Mister Tom by Michelle Magorian.

Nina Bawden was one of the UK’s best writers for both adults and children. She often used her own childhood experiences in her books – Carrie’s War is set in the mining valley in Wales where she lived as an evacuee in wartime. She studied philosophy, politics and economics at Somerville College, Oxford and finished her first novel the year after she took her degree. She won the Guardian Award for Children’s Fiction for The Peppermint Pig. Nina died in 2012, aged 87.

Also available in A Puffin Book: GOODNIGHT MISTER TOM and BACK HOME by Michelle Magorian CHARLOTTE’S WEB, STUART LITTLE and THE TRUMPET OF THE SWAN by E. B. White THE BORROWERS by Mary Norton STIG OF THE DUMP by Clive King ROLL OF THUNDER, HEAR MY CRY by Mildred D. Taylor A DOG SO SMALL by Philippa Pearce GOBBOLINO by Ursula Moray Williams CARRIE’S WAR by Nina Bawden MRS FRISBY AND THE RATS OF NIMH by Richard C O’Brien A WRINKLE IN TIME by Madeleine L’Engle THE CAY by Theodore Taylor TARKA THE OTTER by Henry Williamson WATERSHIP DOWN by Richard Adams SMITH by Leon Garfield THE NEVERENDING STORY by Michael Ende ANNIE by Thomas Meehan THE FAMILY FROM ONE END STREET by Eve Garnett

Product Details

Format

Paperback

ISBN

9780141354903

Publisher

Puffin

Date published

July 3rd, 2014

Other details

  • 240 pages

Condition

New

Reviews

This product has not been reviewed yet.

Add a review