Shopping from United States? Please visit the correct site for your location.

Suitable for 9 - 11 years

This product is not currently available.

To help you find what you're looking for, see similar items below.

This product has not been rated yet.

0 reviews (Add a review)

Delivery information

  • FREE ROI delivery for schools on orders containing at least one paid item.
  • FREE ROI delivery on orders €30 or over
  • €6 delivery charge on ROI orders
    under €30

Book Club orders

  • FREE delivery to schools
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

ROI delivery within 8 working days

Delivery charges and times vary for overseas addresses

Refund and returns policy

Product description

Jacky’s first ever Second World War story! The dreamy, touching tale of an evacuee leaving home and finding a new place to belong. It’s 1939. The war has just started, and ten-year-old Shirley is being sent away on a train with her schoolmates. She doesn’t know where she’s going, or what’ll happen to her when she gets there. All she’s been told is that she’s going on ‘a little holiday’. Soon Shirley finds herself billeted in the country, with two boys – Kevin and Archie – from the East End of London. But living in the strange, half-empty Red House, under the eye of the mysterious and reclusive Mrs Waverley, is an experience that will change Shirley forever…

  • A stunning World War Two story from a beloved author
  • Brings the war alive in a tale of friendship and courage
  • For fans of Hetty Feather and Goodnight Mister Tom
  • Jacqueline Wilson has sold over 35 million books

Product Details

Format

Hardback

ISBN

9780857535153

Publisher

Doubleday Children's Books

Date published

November 3rd, 2016

Accelerated Reader

AR book level: 4.6; Middle years; 16.0 points

Condition

New

Author/Illustrator

Jacqueline Wilson

Nick Sharratt

Reviews

This product has not been reviewed yet.

Add a review