Frankie's World #2: Finding My Voice by Aoife Dooley (author)

Suitable for 9 - 10 years

Format
Paperback
eur prices
Save €2.69
Offer price: 9.00
Rewards/RRP: €11.69
Product ordering

Buy this and your school gets €1.80 to spend on books

This product has not been rated yet.

0 reviews (Add a review)

Delivery information

  • FREE ROI postage for schools on orders containing at least one paid item.*
  • FREE ROI postage on orders €40 or over
  • €8 postage charge on ROI orders
    under €40

Book Club orders

  • FREE postage to schools*
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

ROI postage within 8 working days

Postage charges and times vary for overseas addresses

Delivery information and refund and returns policy

*Excluding border charge

Product description

A two-colour graphic novel about speaking-up and standing out when you feel different. Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier How do you find your voice when everyone around you is telling you to be quiet? Frankie is different, and so is her best-friend, Sam. So when they both start secondary school, it’s tough. Particularly when there are so many rules to follow, like: No talking in class! Be quiet in the hallways! Silence for assembly! Frankie doesn’t know how she’ll manage, because constantly talking is how she copes. So when she gets the chance to compete in a Battle of the Bands contest, Frankie couldn’t be more excited. Except, to have a band, you need to have band members. And to have band members, you need to be good at making friends… Can Frankie learn to find her voice and stand out?

  • A unique perspective on Autism, told with humour and heart.
  • Brought to life with glorious colour artwork in a distinctive blue and orange palette.
  • Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier.

Praise for FRANKIE’S WORLD: “I loved Frankie’s story and could really identify with her character. This is such an amazing graphic novel that represents neurodiversity really realistically.” Libby Scott“Aoife Dooley captures Frankie’s autistic experience with great care, humour and love.” Lizzie Huxley-Jones“A fun and relatable read about awkwardness, self-acceptance, family and friendship.” Sarah McIntyre“Unique and often funny … I cheered Frankie on through her journey.” Sue Cheung“Frankie’s World is funny, fresh and honest and I wish it had be around to read when I was little.” Holly Smale“Offers an amusing and relatable story that celebrates neurodiversity through its sensitive exploration of Frankie’s alienation from her peers” IRISH TIMES “A wonderfully charming, honest and funny look at growing up… one of my favourite books of the year” IRISH EXAMINER “Warm, funny and original” GUARDIAN “A great story about growing up and learning who you are” BOOKTRUST

Our April 2023 Ages 11+ Book of the Month

Our Book of the Month for Age 11+ is Finding My Voice, a new Frankie’s World graphic novel from Aoife Dooley. Frankie is different, and so is her best friend Sam. So when they both start secondary school it’s tough. When Frankie gets the chance to compete in a Battle of the Bands contest she couldn’t be more excited! Except to have a band you need members, and to have members you need to be good at making friends… Can Frankie find her voice when everyone is telling her to be quiet and learn to stand out?

This is a funny, frank, and fresh own voices graphic novel about speaking up and fitting in when you feel different. Aoife Dooley is a neurodiverse author who has openly shared her experiences of autism and therefore provides a truly realistic portrayal of neurodiversity in the book. The unique perspective and humour of Frankie’s World books make them relatable for all readers. Finding my Voice is also perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier.

Emma – Book Club Editor, Ages 7-11+
Emma – Book Club Editor, Ages 7-11+

Product Details

Catalogue number

910 in Setanta SCB Offer April 2024

Series

Frankie's World (book 2)

Format

Paperback

ISBN

9780702307386

Publisher

Scholastic

Date published

March 30th, 2023

Other details

  • 272 pages

Condition

New

Available in these packs

Part of this Series

Reviews

This product has not been reviewed yet.

Add a review

Customers also bought