Jay's Guide to Crushing It by Ruby Clyde (author)

Suitable for 12 - 16 years

Format
Paperback
eur prices
Price: 8.00
Rewards price: €11.69
Product ordering

Buy this and your school gets €1.60 to spend on books

This product has not been rated yet.

0 reviews (Add a review)

Delivery information

  • FREE ROI postage for schools on orders containing at least one paid item.*
  • FREE ROI postage on orders €40 or over
  • €8 postage charge on ROI orders
    under €40

Book Club orders

  • FREE postage to schools*
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

ROI postage within 8 working days

Postage charges and times vary for overseas addresses

Delivery information and refund and returns policy

*Excluding border charge

Product description

A warm, witty and touching romantic comedy” – The Guardian

It isn’t easy working out who you like when you’re still working out who you are.Jay – sorry, Jennifer – and her family move to a new town for a fresh start, after bullying at her last school went too far. Jennifer’s mum insists that she do things differently, so gone are her jeans, T-shirts, skateboard and short hair. Jennifer want to keep her mum happy, so she follows Mum’s plan to start looking and acting like a girl. But it soon starts to wear on Jennifer, and she starts leading a double life, dressing in her brother’s clothes to sneak out to go skateboarding in the local park. That’s where Jennifer feels most like herself, where she can be Jay again. But then Jay gets tangled up in a crush with Alex, a closeted boy at the skate park who thinks Jay is a boy. But is her friend Mina flirting with Jay … as a girl? Can Jay keep their different worlds from colliding? A romantic comedy that shows readers that sometimes the basics can be quite complicated!

  • Hilarious and heartfelt, this novel is perfect for fans of Heartstopper, Felix Ever After, I Kissed Shara Wheeler and Hani and Ishu’s Guide to Fake Dating.
  • Ruby Clyde is a rising talent, known for their comedy writing and acclaimed performances as half of the comedy duo Shelf

Praise for Jay’s Guide to Crushing ItThe word ‘heartwarming’ is overused when it comes to teen love but Clyde’s debut, about a teenager who is forced to dress more like a girl when they move to a new school, is genuinely that… This sweet and tender romance will offer hope to all teenagers who feel constrained by societal and parental expectations.” THE BOOKSELLERONE TO WATCH REVIEW

Our August 2023 Teen Book of the Month

Our Book of the Month for Teen readers is Jay’s Guide to Crushing It from own-voices author Ruby Clyde. 14-year-old Jay – sorry, Jennifer – and her family move to a new town for a fresh start after bullying at her last school went too far. Jennifer wants to keep her mum happy so gone are her jeans, t-shirts, skateboard and short hair and she’s following the plan to start looking and acting like a girl. But Jennifer soon starts to lead a double life, sneaking out to the local skatepark where she feels most like herself and can be Jay again. Here she gets tangled up in a crush with Alex, a closeted boy who thinks Jay is a boy too. But at school is her new friend Mina flirting with Jay…as a girl? It isn’t easy working out who you like when you’re still working out who you are.

This funny, big-hearted romantic comedy about a teen doing their best to fit in shows readers that sometimes finding yourself can be quite complicated! Author Ruby Clyde is a rising talent, best known as one half of the acclaimed comedy double act Shelf, and brings a fresh and unique voice to the forefront in this debut novel. Jay’s Guide to Crushing It softens difficult coming-out themes with whip-smart humour and is a perfect read for fans of Heartstopper, Felix Ever After, and Hani and Ishu’s Guide to Fake Dating.

Emma – Book Club Editor, Ages 7-11+
Emma – Book Club Editor, Ages 7-11+

Product Details

Catalogue number

1236 in Setanta SCB Offer April 2024 and 8060 in Schools Catalogue 2024–25

Format

Paperback

ISBN

9780702325076

Publisher

Scholastic

Date published

August 3rd, 2023

Other details

  • 304 pages

Condition

New

Available in these packs

Reviews

This product has not been reviewed yet.

Add a review

Customers also bought