Please note our orders ship from the UK and may currently be subject to delays. remove

Our Castle by the Sea

by Lucy Strange (author)

Suitable for 9 - 12 years

Part of the following pack:

This product has not been rated yet.

0 reviews (Add a review)

Delivery information

  • FREE ROI postage for schools on orders containing at least one paid item.*
  • FREE ROI postage on orders €40 or over
  • €8 postage charge on ROI orders
    under €40

Book Club orders

  • FREE postage to schools*
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

ROI postage within 8 working days

Postage charges and times vary for overseas addresses

Refund and returns policy

*Excluding border charge

Product description

Too big for Enid Blyton? Read this dreamy story of war, secrets, courage and life in a lighthouse. England is at war. For Pet, who has grown up in the lighthouse, the world is a place of storms, secret tunnels and sea monsters. But now the clifftops are a terrifying battleground, and her family is being torn apart. This is the story of a girl who is small, scared and unnoticed. A girl who freezes with fear when enemy planes rip through the skies. A girl fated to become part of the ancient legend of the Daughters of Stone. The question is: how?

  • A haunting, evocative novel by a rising star of fiction
  • Set on the south coast of England during World War Two
  • Fuses history and magic in a poignant coming-of-age tale
  • A great choice for fans of Emma Carroll and Hilary McKay
  • Lucy Strange also wrote The Secret of Nightingale Wood

“A poignant and uplifting tale packed with adventure, atmosphere and intriguing characters.” Mail on Sunday

“A thrilling Second World War story about belonging and betrayal.” Guardian

Product Details

Format

Paperback

ISBN

9781911077831

Publisher

Chicken House Ltd

Date published

January 3rd, 2019

Lexile measure

820L Lexiles are the global standard in reading assessment. They are unique as they are able to measure a child and a book on the same scale – ensuring the right book gets to the right child at the right time.

For more details see What is a lexile?.

Accelerated Reader

AR book level: 5.8; Middle years; 10.0 points

Other details

  • 336 pages

Condition

New

Available in these packs

Reviews

This product has not been reviewed yet.

Add a review

Customers also bought