Shopping from United States? Please visit the correct site for your location.

What Stars Are Made Of

by Sarah Allen (author)

Suitable for 8 - 12 years

eur prices
Price: 5.00
Rewards price: €8.74
Product ordering
  • Schools earn Scholastic Rewards when parents or staff order from us. If you work at a school you can use Rewards to buy books and resources for your classroom or library. Find out how to use Scholastic Rewards

Buy this and your school gets €1.25 to spend on books Orders of €10 or more will earn 25% of your order value back in Scholastic Rewards for your school.

This item has 1 stars of a maximum 5

Rated 1/5 from 1 rating

0 reviews (Add a review)

Delivery information

  • FREE ROI delivery for schools on orders containing at least one paid item.
  • FREE ROI delivery on orders €30 or over
  • €6 delivery charge on ROI orders
    under €30

Book Club orders

  • FREE delivery to schools
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

ROI delivery within 8 working days

Delivery charges and times vary for overseas addresses

Refund and returns policy

Product description

Born different, Libby knows that fate is a lottery. But to help her sister, she must strike a deal with the universe! Libby wants to be a scientist when she grows up, just like her hero, the underrated astronomer Cecilia Payne, who discovered the composition of stars. She’d also do anything for her family, in spite of the medical problems that she struggles with. So when her beloved big sister, Nonny, is in trouble, Libby comes up with the perfect plan to help her. And in the process, she’ll remind everyone what stars are made of…

  • A bold and moving debut from an extraordinary new author
  • A great choice for fans of Wonder, Short and Freak the Mighty
  • A tale of family, friendship and how it’s OK to be different
  • Brims with optimism and humour in spite of difficult themes

“All the primary characters shine in this impressive debut.” Booklist

“Allen, who herself has Turner’s syndrome, gracefully tackles heavy topics in her debut novel, including bullying and premature babies… A tender novel about love, loyalty, and finding yourself, this will win a place in many readers’ hearts.” School Library Journal

“A celebration of difference, a masterclass of empathy – just a massive warm hug of a book!” NetGalley review

Product Details

Catalogue number

415 in Setanta Primary Summer 2020 and 501 in Setanta Teen May 2020

Format

Paperback

ISBN

9780241427965

Publisher

Puffin

Date published

April 2nd, 2020

Other details
  • 288 pages
Condition

New

Reviews

This product has not been reviewed yet.

Add a review

Customers also bought