Please note all goods are shipped from the UK. Republic of Ireland orders are delivered duty paid (DDP). Please see our delivery page for more information. remove

They Wish They Were Us (the gripping, read-in-one-sitting new murder mystery)

by Jessica Goodman (author)

Suitable for 15 - 18 years

Format
Paperback
eur prices
Save €3.99
Offer price: 6.00
Rewards/RRP: €9.99
Product ordering
  • Schools earn Scholastic Rewards when parents or staff order from us. If you work at a school you can use Rewards to buy books and resources for your classroom or library. Find out how to use Scholastic Rewards

Buy this and your school gets €1.20 to spend on books Orders of €20 or more will earn 20% of your order value back in Scholastic Rewards for your school.

This product has not been rated yet.

0 reviews (Add a review)

Delivery information

  • FREE ROI postage for schools on orders containing at least one paid item.*
  • FREE ROI postage on orders €40 or over
  • €8 postage charge on ROI orders
    under €40

Book Club orders

  • FREE postage to schools*
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

ROI postage within 8 working days

Postage charges and times vary for overseas addresses

Refund and returns policy

*Excluding border charge

Product description

Gossip Girl meets One of Us is Lying in this tense, taut, unputdownable murder mystery. In Gold Coast, Long Island, everything from the expensive boutiques to the manicured beaches, to the pressed uniforms of Jill Newman and her friends, looks perfect. But as Jill found out three years ago, nothing is as it seems. Jill’s best friend, the brilliant, dazzling Shaila Arnold, was killed by her boyfriend. After that dark night on the beach, Graham confessed, the case was closed, and Jill tried to move on. Now, it’s Jill’s senior year and she’s determined to make it her best yet. After all, she’s a senior and a Player – a member of Gold Coast Prep’s exclusive, not-so-secret secret society. Senior Players have the best parties, highest grades and the admiration of the entire school. This is going to be Jill’s year. She’s sure of it. But when Jill starts getting texts proclaiming Graham’s innocence, her dreams of the perfect senior year start to crumble. If Graham didn’t kill Shaila, who did? Jill vows to find out, but digging deeper could mean putting her friendships, and her future, in jeopardy.

In development as major HBO Max television show THE PLAYERS TABLE

Our March 2021 Teen Book of the Month

My YA March Book of the Month has to be They Wish They Were Us. Set in an elite American private school, Jill Newman and her friends are the most popular, envied students in school. They’re also Players; members of an exclusive no-so-secret secret society, that host the best parties, get the best grades and have the brightest futures ahead of them. But not all is as it seems, as an anonymous text reveals to Jill that her best friend wasn’t murdered by the boyfriend who confessed three years ago, but someone else…

This gripping debut from Jessica Goodman is already a bestseller in the US, and it’s easy to see why. You are guaranteed to read this murder thriller in one sitting as you race with the characters to solve the mystery before it’s too late. With an added edge of feminism and classism, They Wish They Were Us is so much more than a “whodunnit”. Perfect for fans of Karen McManus’s One of Us is Lying and Holly Jackson’s A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder. Read the book now ahead of the series The Player’s Table coming next year, with Halsey making her screen debut!

Su – Book Club Editor
Su – Book Club Editor

Product Details

Catalogue number

909 in Setanta Teen Spring 2021, 824 in Setanta SCB June 2021 and 909 in Setanta Teen May 2021

Format

Paperback

ISBN

9780702308031

Publisher

Scholastic

Date published

March 4th, 2021

Accelerated Reader

AR book level: 4.8; Upper years; 13.0 points

Other details

  • 336 pages

Condition

New

Reviews

This product has not been reviewed yet.

Add a review

Customers also bought