Please note our orders ship from the UK and may currently be subject to delays. remove

Dark Lord: The Teenage Years Award-winning

by Jamie Thomson (author)

Suitable for 9 - 11 years

This product is not currently available.

To help you find what you're looking for, see similar items below.

This item has 5 stars of a maximum 5

Rated 5/5 from 1 rating

0 reviews (Add a review)

Delivery information

  • FREE ROI delivery for schools on orders containing at least one paid item.*
  • FREE ROI delivery on orders €40 or over
  • €8 delivery charge on ROI orders
    under €40

Book Club orders

  • FREE delivery to schools*
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

ROI delivery within 8 working days

Delivery charges and times vary for overseas addresses

Refund and returns policy

*Excluding border charge

Product description

Thirteen-year-old Dirk Lloyd has a secret. He is the earthly incarnation of the Dark Lord, supreme ruler of the Darklands, bent on death and bloody ruin. Following a colossal battle, the Dark Lord was defeated and hurled into the Pit of Uttermost Despair. And at the bottom of the Pit lies… a supermarket car park in the town of Whiteshields. Nobody believes the Dark Lord when he tries to explain his true identity. The fact that he’s trapped in the body of a puny schoolboy doesn’t help. So Dirk begins his battle to win back his dignity, his power and his lands. But faced with a do-gooding foster family, a horrid headmaster and two interfering psychotherapists, what’s an evil god to do?

  • Winner of the 2012 Roald Dahl Funny Prize
  • Absolutely hilarious and bursting with zany illustrations
  • Perfect for fans of Jedi Academy and The World of Norm
  • Voted one of the Sunday Times 100 Best Children’s Books

“This is hilarious, and is set to have us inferior puny humans laughing out loud… It really is a work of ‘evil genius.’” LiteraryLoves.com

“Very funny, very silly… brilliant concept.” Bookseller

Product Details

Format

Paperback

ISBN

9781408315118

Publisher

Orchard Books

Date published

February 9th, 2017

Accelerated Reader

AR book level: 5.4; Middle years; 8.0 points

Condition

New

Reviews

This product has not been reviewed yet.

Add a review

Customers also bought

What kids think

  1. AngelofDeath
    on 9 March 2014

    It’s a nice story, i found it interesting.

  2. lap312i
    on 5 March 2013

    i like the cover

  3. Book-Club-Review-Team
    on 18 October 2011

    This book is about a lord of another world who was falling from a cliff and when he landed, he landed on earth, although just not as himself.

    Instead he has turned into a human being, a boy. When two policeman find him lying in a car park they ask him what his name is, the dark lord says his name and the policeman think he says dirk lloyd.

    My favourite bits was when the dark lord thought that people were trying to torture him but actually they are doing human things.

    This book is as dark as Harry Potter. 4/5.

    Ben, age 11

    I found this book well written but the storyline didn’t catch me. For me it was too mystical and riddled with fairy tales but it should appeal to those who like Terry Pratchet. The plot was concerned with a 12-year-old boy who thinks he’s a dark lord from a magical realm, who is transported to earth by a wizard. The book is filled with references to what he did when he was a dark lord, which I found too random, and distracted me from the main story line, however I can see this book would appeal to those who like fantasy stories.

    George, age 12

    3out of 5