Please note our orders ship from the UK and may currently be subject to delays. remove

Suitable for 9 - 12 years

Format
Paperback
eur prices
Price: 8.87
Product ordering
  • Schools earn Scholastic Rewards when parents or staff order from us. If you work at a school you can use Rewards to buy books and resources for your classroom or library. Find out how to use Scholastic Rewards

Buy this and your school gets €1.77 to spend on books Orders of €20 or more will earn 20% of your order value back in Scholastic Rewards for your school.

This product has not been rated yet.

0 reviews (Add a review)

Delivery information

  • FREE ROI postage for schools on orders containing at least one paid item.*
  • FREE ROI postage on orders €40 or over
  • €8 postage charge on ROI orders
    under €40

Book Club orders

  • FREE postage to schools*
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

ROI postage within 8 working days

Postage charges and times vary for overseas addresses

Refund and returns policy

*Excluding border charge

Product description

A stunning war story from a king of writers. Being autistic is tough in peacetime. What about in a war…? Maybe you think flamingos only live in exotic places. Actually, they also live in the salty swamps of the Camargue in France. The boy in this story has loved them since he was tiny – along with routine, and music, and riding the town carousel. But now war has come, and it’s all falling apart. The flamingos are being shot – falling broken to the ground. The town is overrun by Nazi soldiers. Even the precious carousel horses have been smashed. How will this kid cope with it all?

  • A moving, uplifting story of hope in a time of horror
  • Explores autism in a Second World War historical story
  • Celebrates the power of friendship against all odds
  • Perfect for fans of War Horse and Private Peaceful

Product Details

Catalogue number

6433 in Books and Resources for Schools 2021

Format

Paperback

ISBN

9780008134655

Publisher

HarperCollins Children's Books

Date published

September 6th, 2018

Accelerated Reader

AR book level: 5.8; Middle years; 9.0 points

Other details

  • 288 pages

Condition

New

Available in these packs

Author/Illustrator

Michael Morpurgo

Photo of Michael Morpurgo

Reviews

This product has not been reviewed yet.

Add a review

Customers also bought