We are experiencing intermittent issues with our payment provider. Please try again if your transaction is not successful. remove

Suitable for 12 - 13 years

eur prices
Price: 6.50
Rewards price: €10.39
Product ordering
  • Schools earn Scholastic Rewards when parents or staff order from us. If you work at a school you can use Rewards to buy books and resources for your classroom or library. Find out how to use Scholastic Rewards

Buy this and your school gets €1.30 to spend on books Orders of €20 or more will earn 20% of your order value back in Scholastic Rewards for your school.

This product has not been rated yet.

0 reviews (Add a review)

Delivery information

  • FREE ROI postage for schools on orders containing at least one paid item.*
  • FREE ROI postage on orders €40 or over
  • €8 postage charge on ROI orders
    under €40

Book Club orders

  • FREE postage to schools*
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

ROI postage within 8 working days

Postage charges and times vary for overseas addresses

Refund and returns policy

*Excluding border charge

Product description

From the multi-award-winning author of Orangeboy, comes a YA road-trip mystery.

I pick up the envelope . . . As I rip down the sides, there’s loads of paper bursting out; stuck on flowers, dandelions, roses . . .

Spey recently received two surprises. The first: his ex-prisoner dad turning up unannounced, and the second: a mysterious package containing torn-up paper flowers.

Spey instantly recognises it as a collage he made with his old friend Dee, and decides she must be in danger, but there are no clues to her whereabouts.

There’s only one person he knows who can help to track her down . . . On a road trip like no other, will Spey and his dad find Dee, before it’s too late?

Our October 2021 Teen Book of the Month

Finally for my Teen October Book of the Month I have chosen Splinters of Sunshine. Spey awakes on Christmas morning to the ex-prisoner father he’s never met asleep on his sofa. Then he receives a mysterious package from his old friend Dee; who bounced between schools until she ended up in care and the world of gangs. They haven’t spoken for years, but Spey knows this means she must be in danger. There’s only one person who might be able to help… Can Spey and his dad find Dee and confront a criminal gang together, or will they be too late?

Patrice Lawrence is the author of Waterstones Book of the Year Orangeboy, and more recently multi-award-winning Eight Pieces of Silva. In my opinion, she is one of the best writers in modern YA fiction. With October being Black History Month, now more than ever is the time to celebrate black authors and their amazing writing. This thrilling road-trip mystery is perfect for fans of John Green, Alice Oseman and Emily Barr.

Su – Book Club Editor, Ages 7–11+
Su – Book Club Editor, Ages 7–11+

Product Details

Catalogue number

1006 in Setanta Teen November 2021

ISBN

9781444954777

Publisher

Hodder Children's Books

Date published

August 5th, 2021

Other details

  • 336 pages

Condition

New

Author/Illustrator

Patrice Lawrence

Photo of Patrice Lawrence

Reviews

This product has not been reviewed yet.

Add a review

Customers also bought