Book of the Month

Suitable for 13 - 18 years

eur prices
Save €2.39
Offer price: 8.00
Rewards/RRP: €10.39
Product ordering
  • Schools earn Scholastic Rewards when parents or staff order from us. If you work at a school you can use Rewards to buy books and resources for your classroom or library. Find out how to use Scholastic Rewards

Buy this and your school gets €1.60 to spend on books Orders of €20 or more will earn 20% of your order value back in Scholastic Rewards for your school.

This product has not been rated yet.

0 reviews (Add a review)

Delivery information

  • FREE ROI postage for schools on orders containing at least one paid item.*
  • FREE ROI postage on orders €40 or over
  • €8 postage charge on ROI orders
    under €40

Book Club orders

  • FREE postage to schools*
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

ROI postage within 8 working days

Postage charges and times vary for overseas addresses

Refund and returns policy

*Excluding border charge

Product description

An empowering story about finding your identity and the courage to fight for it. Aaliyah is an ordinary thirteen-year-old living in the Midlands – she’s into her books, shoes, K-pop and she is a Muslim. She has always felt at home where she lives … until a terrorist attack in her area changes everything. As racial tensions increase and she starts getting bullied, Aaliyah decides to begin wearing a hijab – to challenge how people in her community see her. But when her school bans the hijab and she is intimidated and attacked for her choices, she feels isolated. Soon Aaliyah realises that other young people from different backgrounds also struggle with their identity and feel alone, scared and judged. Should she try to blend in – or can she find allies to help her fight back? Channelling all of her bravery, Aaliyah decides to speak out. Together, can Aaliyah and her friends halt the tide of hatred rippling through their community?

  • An essential read to encourage empathy, challenging stereotypes, exploring prejudice, racism, Islamophobia and positive action.
  • A.M. Dassu is the award-winning author of the critically acclaimed Boy, Everywhere,
  • A story of hope, speaking up and the power of coming together in the face of hatred. Perfect for readers of Elle McNicoll and Helen Rutter

“A major, much needed voice in UK children’s fiction.” Alex Wheatle, author of Cane Warriors and Crongton Knights“One of the best, most relevant, most important writers we have in the UK today.” Liz Kessler, author of When the World was Ours“A. M. Dassu serves up an important, necessary book about racism and identity.” Nizrana Farook, author of The Girl Who Stole an Elephant “Unflinchingly honest, heartbreaking, powerful, important and hopeful.” Sophie Wills, author of The Orphans of St Halibuts“Tense, terrifying, transformative. The power of this book punched me right in the chest. Read it, share it, shout about it. The world needs this book.” Kathryn Evans, author of More of Me“A.M. Dassu is a fearless writer tackling themes of racism in the lives of contemporary teens.” Liz Flanagan, award-winning author

Our June 2022 Teen Book of the Month

Our Teen book of the month is Fight Back by A. M. Dassu. Aaliyah, a normal thirteen year old Muslim girl from the Midlands, has always felt at home where she lives…until there is a terrorist attack. Racial tensions increase and she begins being bullied. In her struggle to fit in and feeling isolated, Aaliyah sees that other children from different backgrounds to her own also experience these feelings. She decides it’s time for someone to speak out and fight back against the prejudice they all experience.

This is the new title from the author of critically acclaimed Boy, Everywhere. This book is really moving, thought-provoking and encourages the reader to challenge stereotypes as it explores prejudice and racism. Readers are introduced to positive action and learn the power that it can have. Fight Back is about finding your identity and having the courage to fight for it and will certainly encourage important discussions amongst its readers.

Olivia - Book Club Editor, Ages 7+
Olivia - Book Club Editor, Ages 7+

Product Details

Catalogue number

180 in Setanta Summer 2022 and 1426 in Setanta SCB Offer June 2022

ISBN

9780702315886

Publisher

Scholastic

Date published

June 2nd, 2022

Other details

  • 400 pages

Condition

New

Reviews

This product has not been reviewed yet.

Add a review

Customers also bought

Promotions available

How do I use promotional codes