Please note all goods are shipped from the UK. Republic of Ireland orders are delivered duty paid (DDP). Please see our delivery page for more information. remove

Books for ages 11 to 12

See more Bestsellers

Bestsellers

Hurricane Child
eur prices
Offer price: €6.00
Rewards/RRP: €8.74
Product ordering

Our June Book of the Month

Hurricane Child by Kacen Callender

“For ages 11 and over, my June Book of the Month pick is Hurricane Child. In this book, Caroline Murphy is a Hurricane Child. Born during a hurricane, she is cursed with bad luck, hated and bullied by everyone in her school. Not only that, but a spirit only she can see won’t stop following her, and worst of all, Caroline’s mother left home one day and never came back. But Caroline’s luck begins to change in the form of new student Kalinda, becoming Caroline’s first and only friend, and her crush. Now, Caroline must find the strength to confront her feelings, brave the spirit stalking her and face the reason her mother abandoned her. Together, Caroline and Kalinda set out in a hurricane to find Caroline’s missing mother, before Caroline loses her for ever.

This exquisite novel from National Book Award winner Kacen Callender has already won both the Lambda Literary Award and the Stonewall Book Award in the US. Callender is Black and queer, and bravely and honestly addresses similar struggles they faced in this Own Voices novel. It’s perfect for fans of The Boy at the Back of the Class, A Pocketful of Stars and The Bone Sparrow. Although heartbreaking at points, it’s a truly important book that all young readers should experience, and reminds us that grief and love can open the world in mystical ways.”

Su – Book Club Editor
Su – Book Club Editor
See more What's new?

What's new?

See more Big-screen reads

Big-screen reads

See more Scholastic classics

Scholastic classics

See more Funny reads

Funny reads

See more Book pack bargains

Book pack bargains

See more Fantasy and magic

Fantasy and magic

Browse more children’s books by age